About us

The Southern Highlands Branch of the Fellowship of Australian Writers (FAWSH) is a non-profit organisation committed to supporting local writers.

Our parent organisation is the Fellowship of Australian Writers which is incorporated as an Association in NSW; it operates according to the Fair Trading NSW Model Constitution.

Our usual practice is to meet on the second Saturday of each month—except January—from 10.00am to 1.00pm in the Henrietta Rose Room, which is just opposite the entrance to Bowral Municipal Library.

In normal times our Poetry Group, and separately, our Prose Group meet monthly at The Post Office Cafe in Moss Vale. For details contact fawshnsw@hotmail.com.

In the time of COVID-19, however, all our face to face meetings have been suspended.

We are using this web site to keep in touch and to showcase what we have been up to in our isolation.

We encourage members to write for Crash Test Drama at Melting Pot Theatre, Bundanoon.


For general enquiries, contact our Secretary, Uta Purcell.

The FAWSH Committee for 2019–2020 is:

  • President: Greg Baker
  • Vice-President: Jo Wright
  • Secretary: Uta Purcell
  • Treasurer: Kathryn Litchfield
  • Committee: Barb Angell, Rose Fox and Morag Rasmussen

Last updated: 3 April 2020.